Login | Contact Us | Search:
My Account

Citizens Advisory Groups

At Citizens, community input is critical to ensuring we are responsive to the needs of all Trust stakeholders. Citizens has three utility advisory groups that allow us to have a regular dialogue with various Trust stakeholders:

Citizens Stakeholder Alliance

Citizens Stakeholder Alliance provides bi-monthly feedback to us on various aspects of customer service and new program delivery. The group is facilitated by Walt McKinnie of New World Management. Members include:

  • Frederick C. Bagg, ABC, APR, Fellow PRSA , Director, Strategic Planning & Research, St. Francis Hospital & Health Centers
  • Ken Brasseur, Platinum Properties, LLC
  • Miriam Acevedo Davis, Executive Director, La Plaza
  • Brienne Delaney, Communication Director, Marion County Prosecutor's Office
  • Lynn Engel, President / CEO, Connect2Help
  • Mike Good, Water Superintendent, Town Of Brownsburg
  • Kevin Hardie, Executive Director, Friends of the White River
  • Steve Lains, CEO, Builders Association of Greater Indianapolis
  • Brian D. Lott, Deputy Fire Chief, Fishers Fire Department
  • Regina Marsh, Executive Director, Forest Manor Multi-Service Center
  • Glen Miller, Manager, Morgan County Rural Water Corporation
  • Zaida Monell, MS, SPHR, Vice President, Employee and Organization Development, Goodwill Industries of Central Indiana, Inc.
  • Marsha M. Oliver, Owner, MMO & Associates Consulting
  • Mark A. Russell, Director of Education, Indianapolis Urban League
  • Anthony Swinger, Director of External Affairs, Indiana Office of Utility Consumer Counselor (OUCC)
  • Gail Thomas Strong, Vice President, Community Engagement, WFYI
  • Bill Taft, Executive Director, Local Initiatives Support Corporation, Indianapolis (LISC)

Citizens Water Technical Advisory Group (TAG)

The Water TAG provides a monthly forum for discussion of key programs and activities related to water quality, source water protection, water management and environmental stewardship.
The group is facilitated by Bill Beranek, Director, Indiana Environmental Institute. Members of the Water TAG include:

  • Kirk Alter, Associate Professor, Purdue University
  • Bob Bar, Research Scientist, IUPUI
  • Mark Basch, Water Rights and Use Section Head, Indiana Division of Water
  • Scott Bell, Director of the Water/Wastewater Division, Indiana Office of Utility Consumer Counselor
  • Pat Carroll, Chief Drinking Water Branch, Indiana Department of Environmental Management
  • Denise Curtis, Environmental Manager, National Starch LLC
  • Tom Flatt, Retired Scientist, Indiana Department of Natural Resources
  • Jeff Frey, Retired Scientist, U.S. Geological Survey
  • Vince Griffin, VP, Environmental & Energy Policy, Indiana Chamber of Commerce
  • Mike Guebert, Professor, Earth and Environmental Science, Taylor University
  • Kevin Hardie, Executive Director, Friends of the White River
  • Steve Irvin, Managing Member, Acuity Environmental Solutions
  • Tom Iseley, Program Director, Professor of Construction Engineering Management Technology, IUPUI
  • Wade Kohlmann, President, R.W. Kohlmann Associates LLC
  • Alo Lao, Engineering Supervisor, Indiana Department of Environmental Management
  • Paul Mahoney, Senior Environmentalist, Indiana Department of Environmental Management
  • Ryan Marquette, Scientist, Eli Lilly & Company
  • Jeff Miller, Director, Earth Day Indiana
  • Rick Miranda, Special Projects Manager, Drinking Water Division, Indiana Department of Environmental Management
  • Scott Morlock, Director, U.S. Geological Survey
  • John Pankhurst, Director Emeritus, Eagle Creek Park Foundation
  • Gary Powdrill, Member, Water Pollution Control Board
  • Glenn Pratt, Senior Environmental Management Consultant, Sierra Club
  • Pam Thevenow, Administrator, Department of Water Quality and Hazardous Materials Management, Marion County Health Department
  • Dick Van Frank, Improving Kids Environment

Advanced Wastewater Technical (AWT) Advisory Panel

The AWT provides a bi-monthly technical forum about the operations of the sewage treatment facilities and collection system, as well as the plans for maintenance and improvements. Options for addressing changing proposed governmental regulations and adjusting to changed governmental regulations are also reviewed in context of the two specific treatment plants. The group is facilitated by Bill Beranek, Director, Indiana Environmental Institute. AWT members include:

  • David C. Voelker , Hydrologist, U.S. Geological Survey, Water Resource Division
  • Gary Powdrill, Director of Engineering Services, Quality Enviro. Professionals, Inc.
  • Glenn Pratt, Environmental Advocate, Sierra Club
  • Jim Pawlowski, Operations Manager, United Water Services, Inc.
  • Peter Peng, Process Engineer, United Water Services, Inc.
  • Ralph E. Roper Ph.D., PE, Senior Research Engineer, Heritage Research Group
  • Chris Ranck, Associate, Hydraulics Practice Leader, R.W. Armstrong, Inc.
  • Doug Reichlin, Senior Consultant, Strategic Partners, LLC.
  • Richard VanFrank, Environmental Advocate, Improving Kids Environment
  • Timothy Blagsvedt, Project Manager, United Water Services, Inc.
  • Vince Parker, Consultant, HSE, Eli Lilly and Company, Inc.
  • Wade Kohlmann, Environmental Consultant, R.W. Kohlmann & Associates

Other Advisory Groups:

The following are other advisory groups with which Citizens interacts.

  • Service Advisory Board - Represents communities in the seven county area served by Citizens Water. The Service Advisory Group provides opinions on waterworks operations and customer service.
  • Industrial Dischargers Advisory Committee - Citizens Water representatives participate in this group which represents large industrial customers discharging to the wastewater system.
  • Industrial Environmental Managers Forum - Citizens Water representatives participate in this group of environmental managers from various large Indianapolis industries who gather to share ideas on environmental issues.